Silent Child

Silent Child Book Cover Silent Child
Sarah A. Denzil
Mystery
January 22, 2017
Kindle Edition
416
June 16, 2017

In the summer of 2006, Emma Price watched helplessly as her six-year-old son's red coat was fished out of the River Ouse. It was the tragic story of the year - a little boy, Aiden, wandered away from school during a terrible flood, fell into the river, and drowned.


His body was never recovered. 

Ten years later, Emma has finally rediscovered the joy in life. She's married, pregnant, and in control again...... until Aiden returns.

Too traumatized to speak, he raises endless questions and answers none. Only his body tells the story of his decade-long disappearance. The historic broken bones and injuries cast a mere glimpse into the horrors Aiden has experienced. Aiden never drowned. Aiden was taken.

As Emma attempts to reconnect with her now teenage son, she must unmask the monster who took him away from her. But who, in their tiny village, could be capable of such a crime?It's Aiden who has the answers, but he cannot tell the unspeakable.

This dark and disturbing psychological novel will appeal to fans of The Widow and The Butterfly Garden.

Clueless Gent’s Review

Silent Child, by Sarah A. Denzil, is a fabulous read! Given the dark subject matter of child abuse, I didn’t think I would like it, but it had me hooked before the end of the first chapter. It is not a graphic story about child abuse (thank God); it is more about the aftermath.

Consider this: your six-year-old (and only) child gets washed away in a flood, and his body is never recovered.  During the next ten years, you eventually get on with your life, remarry, and become pregnant.  You’re finally happy again after all this time.  Life is finally worth living again.  BUT THEN, your now sixteen-year-old first child comes wandering back into town, but he can’t speak to tell anyone where he’s been.

If that doesn’t set the stage for some drama and conflict, I don’t know what will.  I can only imagine how Emma Price, the mother and our protagonist, would feel when that happened to her.

This is my first read from Sarah A. Denzil. If her other stories are as exciting as this one, I’ll quickly become a fan. The character arcs are amazing, the conflict is constant, and Denzil is an expert at building tension to the climax, without letting it waver.

Even if you’ve never read a story like this, and even if you don’t think you would like it, you should really consider giving it a go!

Please leave a reply. You'll be glad you did!