Kaleidoscope (The Vision Chronicles #1)

Kaleidoscope Book Cover Kaleidoscope
The Vision Chronicles
Chariss K. Walker
Paranormal
February 22, 2014
Kindle Edition
383

The Vision Chronicles, Book 1

Mike Lewis boldly narrates his fantastical story and confesses his secret: He sees horrifying visions of disturbing future events through a kaleidoscope each time he closes his eyes. He'd like to live a normal life, but an elusive threat prohibits him from doing that. Someone wants to study his mystical ability and they’ll do whatever it takes to further their strange, covert agenda.

The Vision Chronicles eight-book thriller series is a slice-of-life metaphysical/visionary story that details Mike's changing ability as he protects himself, his family, and his friends from those who doggedly pursue him. If you love mind-boggling suspense with a dash of paranormal and a touch of romance, this is the series for you!

Clueless Gent’s Review

Clueless Gent’s Rating

Kaleidoscope is a well-written and engaging paranormal read. Why did I only give it two stars? I’m glad you asked!

I FELT CHEATED BY AUTHOR CHARISS K. WALKER!

Continue reading Kaleidoscope (The Vision Chronicles #1)

The Big Inch

The Big Inch Book Cover The Big Inch
Misfits and Millionaires
Kimberly Fish
Historical Fiction
Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
January 22, 2017
Kindle Edition
344
June 22, 2018
Lane Mercer, sent to Longview, Texas in July, 1942 is part of a select group of women working undercover for the fledging federal agency, the Office of Strategic Services. Assigned to protect the man carrying out President Roosevelt's initiative to build the nation's first overland pipeline to hurry East Texas crude to the troops, she discovers there's more to Longview than the dossiers implied. There's intrigue, mayhem, and danger. Shamed from a botched OSS mission in France, Lane struggles to fulfill her mission and keep from drowning in guilt. Getting involved in local life is out of the question. Between family, do-gooders, and Nazi threats, she's knitted into a series of events that unravel all of her carefully constructed plans, revealing that sometimes the life one has to save, is one's own.

Clueless Gent’s Review

Clueless Gent’s Rating

Kimberly Fish certainly knows how to spin a great tale!  Her mastery of the craft of storytelling is embedded in The Big Inch from cover to cover.  Set in the early days of World War II, the stakes are high as the U.S. scrambles to build an above-ground crude oil pipeline from Longview, Texas, to the east coast, where it will be loaded onto tankers bound for our fighting men in Europe.  Similar to the way they built the railroad in the nineteenth century, one team is responsible for getting the pipeline from the east coast to Illinois, and the other team must build it from the oilfields near Longview to Illinois.  This story follows the Longview team.

Continue reading The Big Inch

Leave Tomorrow: My Ride to the Bottom of the World

Leave Tomorrow: My Ride to the Bottom of the World Book Cover Leave Tomorrow: My Ride to the Bottom of the World
Dirk Weisiger
Travel
October 20, 2017
Kindle Edition
232
February 28, 2018

"For everyone thinking of a new adventure, a new life, or even a new venture: DO IT." - Jim Rogers, bestselling author of Investment Biker.

After building a successful business, Dirk Weisiger was ready for something new. But he wasn’t sure what. Maybe a motorcycle adventure, I’ve never done that!

What followed was a fourteen-month, solo motorcycle journey from Austin, Texas to Ushuaia, Argentina, filled with unexpected adventures, surprises, and lessons about life and travel.

“I headed south to see new vistas on a solo journey, but ended up feeling more connected to the people I met along the way.”

In this book, you’ll not only enjoy Dirk’s adventure and insights, but find inspiration for your own journey.

Dirk Weisiger is a travel trekker, trick roper, and storyteller. Dirk has always enjoyed speaking to groups, spinning tales, ropes, and offering lessons he’s learned in adventures of life and business. He’s travelled to five continents and climbed Mount Kilimanjaro. Most of all Dirk loves people and believes that making new friends is the best part of travel.

(A portion of proceeds from this book help sponsor children at the Colegio Bautista El Calvario private school in Managua, Nicaragua.)

www.DirkSpeaks.com

"This isn’t the first book I’ve read on riding to Ushuaia, but it is probably the most enjoyable."
- Muriel Farrington, Ambassador, BMW Motorcycles Of America

Clueless Gent’s Review

Leave Tomorrow is more of an adventure story than just a travel book.  The writing is so descriptive that while reading it, I sometimes felt the need to stand up and brush off some of the road dust!

I felt this book was about one man’s need to conquer: conquer the road, conquer fear, conquer an idea.  The author never actually says that, but it’s one of those “read between the lines” things.  But that’s not bad.  I was quite intrigued, and I applauded the author’s determination to finish the quest, regardless of the challenges. Continue reading Leave Tomorrow: My Ride to the Bottom of the World

Aransas Morning

Aransas Morning Book Cover Aransas Morning
Jeff Hampton
Family Life
Writer / JL Books and Creations
October 1, 2017
Paperback
304

When Sam Barnes’ high-flying life in Dallas falls apart, he flees to the coastal town of Port Aransas and fades into the life of a reclusive beach bum. But things start to change when he meets Dave, a young widower working through his own loss; Shelly, owner of the Dream Bean coffee shop; Bo, a crusty old shrimper; and Allie, Bo’s free-spirited daughter. Together they are tested and forced to confront their own issues. In doing so they discover family and community.

Clueless Gent’s Review

Aransas Morning will sneak up on you when you least expect it, lasso your heart, and then tug at it throughout the story! Reader beware!

When the story opens, we are taken to Mustang Island, just south of Port Aransas, Texas, and we meet Sam. Unsure how likable he would be, I immediately pictured him as a not-so-young beach bum – a drifter. The author really doesn’t give us a lot to go on. There’s no action, no conflict, no drama. But that’s because it’s only the calm before the storm. Continue reading Aransas Morning

Missing Isaac

Missing Isaac Book Cover Missing Isaac
Valerie Fraser Luesse
Historical Fiction
Fleming H. Revell Company
January 2, 2018
Paperback
352
December 28, 2017

There was another South in the 1960s, one far removed from the marches and bombings and turmoil in the streets that were broadcast on the evening news. It was a place of inner turmoil, where ordinary people struggled to right themselves on a social landscape that was dramatically shifting beneath their feet. This is the world of Valerie Fraser Luesse's stunning debut, Missing Isaac.

It is 1965 when black field hand Isaac Reynolds goes missing from the tiny, unassuming town of Glory, Alabama. The townspeople's reactions range from concern to indifference, but one boy will stop at nothing to find out what happened to his unlikely friend. White, wealthy, and fatherless, young Pete McLean has nothing to gain and everything to lose in his relentless search for Isaac. In the process, he will discover much more than he bargained for. Before it's all over, Pete--and the people he loves most--will have to blur the hard lines of race, class, and religion. And what they discover about themselves may change some of them forever.

Clueless Gent’s Review

Missing Isaac swallowed me whole!  I was so taken with the story that it was hard to put down.  The last two nights, I was up until 4:00 a.m. turning pages because I didn’t want to stop.  That’s how much I enjoyed it!

What Makes Missing Isaac So Good?

I’ve struggled with putting my finger on what made this book so enjoyable to me.

Think of reading a story like driving a car.  Most times, when I get behind the wheel, I’m only interested in getting from point A to point B.  With Missing Isaac, I find myself driving down a country road, with so much contrasting beauty and disaster around me that I want to slow down, open the windows, and just savor the ride! Continue reading Missing Isaac

Leaving Annalise

Leaving Annalise Book Cover Leaving Annalise
What Doesn't Kill You #2
Pamela Fagan Hutchins
Mystery
SkipJack Publishing
July 1, 2013
Kindle Edition
314
December 24, 2017

Multi-awardwinning, Bestselling Romantic Mystery Series
Leaving Annalise picks up the What Doesn't Kill You series with more romance, hilarity, and thrills.

One unexpected and hotly fought-over little boy, two dead bodies, and a series of home vandalisms throw Texas attorney turned island chanteuse Katie Connell into a tizzy. Juggling all of this, Bloody Mary cravings, baggage, and the bad guys too, she waffles between the jumbie house that brought her back from the brink and the man she believes is the love of her life.

See why this series won contest after contest.
2014 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award, Romance, Quarter-finalist (Winner TBA 7-21-14)
2011 Winner of the Houston Writers Guild Mainstream Novel Contest
2010 Winner of the Writers League of Texas Romance Contest
2012 Winner of the Houston Writers Guild Ghost Story Contest

Clueless Gent’s Review

Leaving Annalise pretty much picked up where its predecessor, Saving Grace, left off.  I happen to enjoy that in a series.  But yet, this story can completely stand on its own.  It is not necessary to read its predecessor to enjoy this story.  But reading it is sort of like a bonus! Continue reading Leaving Annalise

Bluster’s Last Stand

Bluster's Last Stand Book Cover Bluster's Last Stand
Memoirs of H.H. Lomax #4
Preston Lewis
Historical Fiction
Wild Horse Press
October 9, 2017
Paperback

Events on the Little Bighorn might have turned out better for George Armstrong Custer had he listened to H.H. Lomax rather than trying to kill him. To save his own skin--and scalp, Lomax must outwit Custer and his troopers as well as face the horde of Sioux warriors swarming Last Stand Hill.

At least that is how Lomax tells the story in his inimitable and humorous romp across Old West history. Lomax's latest misadventures take him from the Battle of Adobe Walls to Buffalo Bill's Wild West show. In between, he's a bouncer in a Waco whorehouse, a prospector in the Black Hills, a bartender in a Dakota Territory saloon and a combatant in the worst defeat in the history of the frontier Army.

Told with Lomax's characteristic wit, Bluster's Last Stand puts a new spin on the Little Bighorn and its aftermath. Whether you believe him or not, you've got to admire Lomax's luck and pluck in both surviving one of the darkest days in Old West history and writing about the disaster in the latest volume of The Memoirs of H.H. Lomax.

Clueless Gent’s Review

Do you have to be an historical fiction aficionado to enjoy Bluster’s Last Stand?  NOPE.  Do you have to enjoy tall tales of the “Old West” to find this story engaging?  NOPE.  Did I find this book particularly fun to read?  Hell yeah!!!!  Why?  CHARACTERS!!!! Continue reading Bluster’s Last Stand

Death at Thorburn Hall

Death at Thorburn Hall Book Cover Death at Thorburn Hall
Drew Farthering Mystery #6
Julianna Deering
Mystery
Bethany House Publishers
November 7, 2017
Kindle Edition
336
November 21, 2017

The Fartherings' Scottish Holiday Takes a Dark Turn
Drew Farthering arrives in idyllic Scotland for the 1935 British Open at Muirfield hoping for a relaxing holiday, but he soon finds a mystery on his hands. Lord Rainsby, his host at Thorburn Hall, fears his business partner may be embezzling and asks Drew to quietly investigate. Before Drew can uncover anything, Rainsby is killed in a suspicious riding accident.

Thorburn Hall is filled with guests, and as Drew continues to dig, he realizes that each might have had a motive to put Rainsby out of the way. Together with Madeline and Nick, he must sort through shady business dealings, international intrigue, and family tensions to find a killer who always seems to be one step ahead.

Clueless Gent’s Review

The “ambiance” of Death at Thorburn Hall – if a story can have ambiance – is important, but hard to explain.  So, I’ll give an example.  Have you ever heard a song (think It’s a Small, Small World), and then could not get the song out of your head?  What does it say about a book when a reader starts talking to family and friends using the same accent as the dialogue in the story?  Well, it’s like that! Continue reading Death at Thorburn Hall

Saving Grace

Saving Grace Book Cover Saving Grace
What Doesn't Kill You #1
Pamela Fagan Hutchins
Mystery
SkipJack Publishing
2012
Kindle Edition
278
December 1, 2017

Multi-awardwinning, Bestselling Romantic Mystery Series
Saving Grace kicks off the What Doesn't Kill You series off with voodoo, laughs, and suspense.

Katie Connell is a high-strung attorney whose sloppy drinking habits and stunted love life collide hilariously during a doomed celebrity case in Dallas. She flees Texas for the Caribbean and escapes professional humiliation, a broken heart, and a wicked Bloody Mary habit, but ends up trading one set of problems for another when she begins to investigate the suspicious deaths of her parents on the island of St. Marcos. She’s bewitched by the voodoo spirit of an abandoned house in the rainforest and discovers that she’s as much a danger to herself as the island’s bad guys are.

Clueless Gent’s Review

Saving Grace was a wonderful read.  I love a good mystery!  And if there happens to be some romance between the covers (of the book!) – well, that’s okay with me.  I read some very good reviews of a later installment in the What Doesn’t Kill You series by Pamela Fagan Hutchins, so I thought the first book in the series would be a good place to start. Continue reading Saving Grace

The Mistletoe Inn

The Mistletoe Inn Book Cover The Mistletoe Inn
Mistletoe Collection
Richard Paul Evans
Christmas
Simon & Schuster
November 17, 2015
Kindle Edition
300
November 22, 2017

The second holiday love story in New York Times bestselling author Richard Paul Evans’s Mistletoe Collection.

At thirty-two Kimberly Rossi, a finance officer at a Lexus car dealership, has had her heart broken more times than she wants to remember. With two failed engagements, a divorce and again alone with no prospects, she hardly seems the type to dream of being a published romance author. Dreading another holiday alone, she signs up for The Mistletoe Retreat, a nine-day writing retreat in Burlington, VT. Deep inside Kimberly knows she’s at a junction in her life and it’s time to either fulfill her dream or let it go. The other reason she decides to attend the conference is because famed romance writer, H.T. Cowell, once the best selling romance writer in America, and the author whose books instilled in her the desire to be a writer, will be speaking in public for the first time in more than a decade.

In one of her breakout sessions Kimberly meets another aspiring writer, and one of the few men at the conference, Zeke, an intelligent man with a wry wit who seems as interested in Kimberly as he is in the retreat. As Kimberly begins to open up to him about her stories and dreams, she inadvertently reveals her own troubled past. As Zeke helps her to discover why her books fail to live up to their potential she begins to wonder if he’s really talking more about her life than her literature. But as she grows closer to him, she realizes that Zeke has his own darkness, a past he’s unwilling to talk about.

The theme of The Mistletoe Inn is that like literature, relationships must be lived with passion and vulnerability to succeed.

Clueless Gent’s Review

I’ll start this review of The Mistletoe Inn with a little disclaimer.  The only reason I purchased this book – and paid full price, I might add – was because the Hallmark movie of the same name was going to premiere on Thanksgiving Day.  It stars one of my favorite actresses – Alicia Witt.  I was a little concerned because, even though I made the purchase several weeks before Thanksgiving, I didn’t actually start reading it until two days before Thanksgiving.  However, that turned out not to be a problem.  I eagerly tore through it in two days! Continue reading The Mistletoe Inn