Murder's Legacy Cover

Murder’s Legacy

Murder's Legacy book blog tour promotion banner


A Tori Winters Mystery, Book 2
Anita Dickason
Mystery / Amateur Sleuth / Women Sleuths
Publisher: Mystic Circle Books
Date of Publication: February 17, 2023
Number of Pages: 378 pages
Scroll down for the Giveaway!


Murder's Legacy cover.

Secrets that defy time!

An inconceivable disaster brings Tori Winters’ plans for the historic house she inherited to a traumatic standstill. A section of the escape tunnel built by her great-grandfather, a notorious Dallas gangster, has collapsed. Within the rubble, there is a gruesome discovery. A skeleton with a bullet hole in the skull.

The shocking cave-in triggers an ominous scheme to condemn her property as accusations arise that the tunnel is dangerous.

Embattled, Tori soon discovers that more than the destruction of the house is on the line. It seems she can’t escape the past. It keeps clawing its way into her life with deadly consequences.

Who hides in the shadows with a motive for murder? And … is Tori the target?

Goodreads button


View Part Two on YouTube


Clueless Gent’s Rating for Murder’s Legacy

5 star rating

Author Anita Dickason has done it again! She continues her perfection of the keep-looking-over-your-shoulder trope with Murder’s Legacy, the second book in the Tori Winters Mystery series. After reading Deadly Keepsakes, the first book in the series, I didn’t think Dickason could keep that edge-of-your-seat pace going. I was wrong! Oh my, was I ever wrong! Actually, I guess you could say that I was gleefully wrong!

This new story continues the plight of Tori Winters as she settles into her new home in Granbury, Texas, and begins the process of turning her inherited historic home into a Bed and Breakfast. An accident during the remodeling process turns into the discovery of a skeleton with a bullet hole in the back of the skull. As Tori tries to find the identity of the skeleton, other “accidents” begin to happen to some of her friends and members of the construction crew. Tori finally realizes that someone is trying to stop her from identifying the remains. The question is, how far will that person actually go to stop her?

When I first started reading this story and the characters began to emerge, I felt like I was in the midst of old friends that I hadn’t heard from in a while. But then the accidents began to happen, and I started to read a bit faster and my breaks became fewer and shorter. I read the last half of the book in a single session, unable to put it down. I had to find out what was going to happen to these friends of mine. Would they be okay? I just had to know!

A writer just can’t get that kind of response from a reader without good pacing. Anita Dickason, in both of these books, has demonstrated her mastery of pacing. It’s really off the charts! It’s among the best I’ve ever read.

This second book in the series can easily stand on its own, but I was delighted with the way the author covered the events of the first book. She covered about two-thirds of the first story in a single, succinct paragraph. How nice! The remainder of the backstory was interspersed in little tidbits where appropriate, as they applied to the current story.

The structure of the story is also excellent. Most chapters cover a single day, and at the end of the chapters, as Tori is getting ready for bed, she sums up the main events of the day and sometimes hints at what will happen the following day. I really liked this methodology. It worked out very well.

Aside from the aforementioned marvelous pacing, the characters also drew me deeper into the story. I already knew most of the characters, but there were a few new ones. Some of these characters, such as Tori and Mia—Tori’s assistant—are just so well constructed and down-to-earth that I really consider them friends: fictional friends.

Author Dickason also includes some lighthearted mini-subplots to allow the reader to come up for air. I think these subplots mainly set the stage for possible romance in a future story, but there was also an ongoing debate about the perfect beverage: is it coffee or Texas sweet tea? The opinions were very strong, I can tell you.

Most authors who are good at description typically concentrate on the senses of sight, sound and smell. Dickason takes this a step further. Here’s a little snippet of reaction upon tasting a pasta dish that a character concocted: “When she forked up a bite, the creamy taste of basil, with a hint of lemon, burst in her mouth. Tori groaned with pleasure. She waved the fork in the air. ‘Oh! This recipe is a keeper.’”

I love epilogues. They usually tell the reader what happens to the characters after the story is over. Murder’s Legacy has an epilogue. The very last sentence of the epilogue seems to set the stage for book three. I can hardly wait!

I am a huge Anita Dickason fan! I loved both of the Tori Winters books immensely. This author knows her stuff! I highly recommend you read both of the books in this series.

I received a free copy of Murder’s Legacy from Lone Star Book Blog Tours in exchange for my honest review. Opinions expressed are my own.

the Author

Author Anita Dickason Photo

Award-winning Author Anita Dickason is a twenty-two-year veteran of the Dallas Police Department. She served as a patrol officer, undercover narcotics detective, advanced accident investigator, tactical officer, and first female sniper on the Dallas SWAT team.
Anita writes about what she knows, cops and crime. Her police background provides an unending source of inspiration for her plots and characters. Many incidents and characters portrayed in her books are based on personal experience. For her, the characters are the fun part of writing as she never knows where they will take her. There is always something out of the ordinary in her stories.
In Anita’s debut novel, Sentinels of the Night, she created an elite FBI Unit, the Trackers. Since then, she has added three more Tracker crime thrillers, Going Gone!, A u 7 9, and Operation Navajo, which are not a series and can be read in any order, and Deadly Business, a crime thriller.
As a Texas author, many of Anita’s books are based in Texas, or there is a link to Texas. When she stepped outside of the Tracker novels and wrote Not Dead and the Tori Winters Mysteries series, she set them in the small Texas communities of Meridian and Granbury, respectively.


eBook copy of Deadly Keepsakes, Tori Winters Mystery #1
+ tote bag & personalized coffee mug
(US only; ends midnight, CDT, 3/24/23)

Murder's Legacy tour giveaway graphic. Prizes to be awarded precede this image in the post text.

3/14/23 Author Interview Sybrina’s Book Blog
3/14/23 BONUS Promo Hall Ways Blog
3/15/23 Review Shelf Life Blog
3/15/23 BONUS Promo LSBBT Blog
3/16/23 Review The Real World According to Sam
3/16/23 Review Jennie Reads
3/17/23 Review The Plain-Spoken Pen
3/17/23 Playlist All the Ups and Downs
3/18/23 Review Boys’ Mom Reads!
3/19/23 Review StoreyBook Reviews
3/20/23 Review The Clueless Gent
3/20/23 Scrapbook Page Chapter Break Book Blog
3/21/23 Review Reading by Moonlight
3/21/23 Review Writing and Music
3/22/23 Review Forgotten Winds
3/22/23 BONUS Review The Book’s Delight
3/23/23 Review Rox Burkey Blog
3/23/23 Review It’s Not All Gravy
Lone Star Lit logo
Blog Tour Services Provided By
Lone Star Book Blog Tours logo

Please leave a comment. You'll be glad you did!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

2 thoughts on “Murder’s Legacy”